4 July: New Year, New Beginnings

Posted by LP User on Friday, July 6, 2012 Under: Meetings
Our first club meeting of the Toastmasters year was held on Wednesday 4th July and saw the new club president Theo Potgieter outline the incoming committee vision for the year:  to focus on helping all our members reach their educational goals and keep improving the quality of each meeting.

Kay Price-Lindsay was the Toastmaster for the evening and she carried the theme of 'A New Broom Sweeps Clean' fluidly through the night with peels of laughter all round.. She also introduced some new changes to the club, such as including a Leadership Award at each meeting to acknowledge the contribution from people acting as Time Keeper, Um Counter & Grammarian, Table Topics Master & Master At Arms.

Our Immediate Past President (and new Area Governer) Marion Thomas presented a special award for outstanding contribution to the club to Alana Byrne for her tireless work behind the scenes at Two Oceans and for setting the club up on Easy Speak

The evenings winners were:

Best Speech:             Jeremy Fenn (CC1)
Best Table Topics:    Ruth Cort
Best Evaluator:          Verity Price
Best Leadership:      Aaron Blanchard (Master At Arms)

In : Meetings 

Please Note:

District 74
means the 9 countries of Toastmasters Southern Africa (approximately 125 clubs)

Division D means Namibia & the Western Cape of South Africa (approximately 30 clubs)

Area D1 means the 4 Toastmasters clubs in Fish Hoek, Tokai, Claremont & Newlands 




Courage is what it takes to stand up and speak; courage is also what it takes to sit down and listen.
(Winston Churchill)

To be a person is to have a story to tell.
(Isak Dinesen)

"All the great speakers, were bad speakers at first."
(Ralph Waldo Emerson)