18 June: Year End Dinner Meeting

Posted by VPPR on Wednesday, June 26, 2013
In true Two Oceans style we all gathered to celebrate another bumper year and welcome in the new committee for 2013-2014.  Kalkbay Theatre provide the venue, Funki Chef the food and Theatresports the side splitting entertainment!  Another laughter filled evening was enjoyed by all, steered effortlessly by Marion Thomas as Toastmaster of the evening. Outgoing President Theo Potgieter gave a brilliant speech on how well the club has done this year and recognized members who have added to its success.

Amongst those he honoured were Kay Price-Lindsay, Aaron Blanchard, Lorne Sulcas, Francois Roux, Verity Price and Alana Byrne. Jeremy Fenn was crowned the newest member to have added value in the last 12 months.   At the end of the evening the new Exco was sworn in and after that the Ann Sylvester Award for Toastmaster of the Year was awarded to Verity Price.  Verity, who is also the incoming president, ended the evening with a speech calling on everyone to push themselves and one another in the new year to achieve their goals.


e Committee for 2013-2014 is:
President:   Verity Price
VPE:          Jeremy Fenn  / 
Ruth Cort (Early Bird)
VPM:          Claire Strobach
VPPR:        Carey Fenn  /  Debby Satchel (Early Bird)
Secretary:   Melanie Steyn
Treasurer:    Nick Satchel
SAA:           Ryan Arendse

Please Note:

District 74
means the 9 countries of Toastmasters Southern Africa (approximately 125 clubs)

Division D means Namibia & the Western Cape of South Africa (approximately 30 clubs)

Area D1 means the 4 Toastmasters clubs in Fish Hoek, Tokai, Claremont & Newlands 




Courage is what it takes to stand up and speak; courage is also what it takes to sit down and listen.
(Winston Churchill)

To be a person is to have a story to tell.
(Isak Dinesen)

"All the great speakers, were bad speakers at first."
(Ralph Waldo Emerson)